How I Met Your Mother: “Hopeless”

 Grade: C

Airdate: 4/18/11

I like the name of this episode because the thought of How I Met Your Mother returning to its first/second season glory is hopeless. In this episode John Lithgow returned as Barney’s (Neil Patrick Harris) dad, Jerry. I’m still not sure how I feel about HIMYM introducing us to Barney’s dad, it was much funnier when it was Bob Barker. The show has moved past that joke, but did you back to some old ones in this episode, such as Ted’s (Josh Radnor) red cowboy boots, Marshall (Jason Segel) and Lily’s (Alyson Hannigan) tendency to have sex in bathroom stalls all over New York and the club Okay.

While Barney was spending time with his dad, he realized he can’t party all his life. Jerry then tells him a girl was what got him to settle down and that he just has to find her. Barney followed that up by saying I think I already have. So, yes, the HIMYM is going to bring back the failed relationship between Barney and Robin (Cobie Smulders).

Speaking of Robin, she spent a good part of this episode trying to impress an old crush. I don’t know if they ever said his name, I can’t remember. Anyway, he was not Don, Robin’s supposed husband and older Ted (Bob Saget) told us that mystery guy will be back.

I think ever since HIMYM has tried to focus more on Barney, who used to be the funniest character, he has gotten less funny. Marshall and Lily seem to be the funniest character now.

Watch “Hopeless”

Leave a Reply

