The Hunger Games: Catching Fire casting thoughts

I have been following the casting for Catching Fire pretty closely and I have been wanting to do this post for a while. But, I decided to wait until Finnick was announced. I didn’t think I would have to wait this long. Anyway, it was announced today that Sam Clafin will be playing Finnick. So, here are my thoughts on casting.

 Sam Clafin as Finnick

I’m not really sure how I feel about this choice. In my opinion it was a little too obvious. Sam Clafin has been playing the young, hot love interest in everything since his role in Pirates 4. I feel like this choice is like giving the role to Orlando Bloom or Josh Harnett if this movie was coming out in 2006. I was more hoping for Armie Hammer, who was one of the top-three choices for Finnick, a victor/tribute from District 4. Finnick is supposed to be taller than every other character. Sam Clafin is only 5’11”, while Armie Hammer is 6’5″. But, most of the cast is taller than Josh Hutchinson (5′ 7″) anyway so maybe they didn’t want Finnick to make him look too short. With all that said, Sam Clafin will probably make a great Finnick. He is hot, but not overly. And he has the it-guy status for our world, like Finnick is supposed to have for Panem. So, maybe he is the best choice.

 Jena Malone as Johanna

Did I say something about obvious casting? Yeah, well I feel the same way about Jena Malone as Johanna. I like Jena Malone and I think she will make a great Johanna, a victor/tribute from District 7. And I think that because I know her as Rocket from “Sucker Punch.” Now “Sucker Punch” got pretty bad reviews and most people probably did not see it. But, I did and I liked it. Rocket was one of the supporting characters. She is just as bad-ass of a fighter as everyone else. She can be cunning and use sexual appeal to get what she wants. She seems strong, but really she was the hidden and terrible past, which lands her in bad situations that she needs her friends to help her out of. Now, Hunger Games fans, do you understand? Jena Malone will be able to play the perfect Johanna, because she played the perfect Rocket and Rocket is Johanna. As I said, I like it but it seems too obvious.

Aside from all that, I always pictured Johanna as a Southern California blonde with really long hair, which I know she isn’t. So, this did not fit my picture of Johanna, but I never pictured Johanna correctly. Well, at least we know Jena Malone looks good with short hair. Bald? I’m not so sure.

 Phillip Seymour Hoffman as Plutarch

“We are the Hunger Games. We can get big names. So, we get big names.” Phillip Seymour Hoffman will be playing Plutarch and adding his name to the “Big Names” list of all the adult characters in the series; Woody Harrelson, Lenny Kravitz, Elizabeth Banks, Donald Sutherland. You understand. I’m excited about this. Most of the adults characters seemed to be cast in the thought of, “What is the biggest name we can get?” And then they get the big name and the big name is awesome. I think Phillip Seymour Hoffman as Plutarch, the head gamemaker for the Quarter Quell, will also be awesome. He doesn’t do too much in the Catching Fire book. But I’m interested to see if that will be changed and we will get more of him, similar to Seneca Crane’s expanded role in the first movie.

 Lynn Cohen as Mags

I really like this choice. Though she always looked like my grandma in my head and I thought the Betty White suggestions were hilarious, Lynn Cohen is a more realistic version of Mags, a victor/tribute from District 4. I’ve never seen anything she has been in but she fits the Mags look. Most of the arguments of Mags casting is that she has to be light enough for Finnick to carry her easily, but just heavy enough that Katniss struggles with her. I think she works for that.

 Amanda Plummer as Wiress

I don’t have much to say about this choice. She fits my idea of Wiress, a victor/tribute for District 3, and she has been in a lot of stuff, sadly I have not seen any of it though. I’m sure she will be good. Tick Tock.

  Meta Golding as Enobaria and Bruno Gunn as Brutus

Enobaria and Brutus are the victors/tribute from District 2. Much like Cato and Clove, they are supposed to be excellent fighters and scary. I think the head shot that has been used for Meta Golding with a lot of her casting announcements is creating some fuss. That picture makes her look really young and really pretty. She is actually really pretty, but she is also 31. I pictured Enobaria a little scarier but I never thought Leven Rambin was scary until I saw her as Glimmer so I’m sure that will be changed. Brutus is perfect.

  E. Roger Mitchell as Chaff and Maria Howell as Seeder

These two are perfect. Chaff and Seeder are the only two victor/tributes that Katniss and Peeta really interact with before the Quarter Quell begins, because they are both friends with Haymitch. They are from District 11, whose tributes always seem to be buddy-buddy with District 12. They look nice and friendly, I just like them all round. And Peeta having two legs probably means only good things for Chaff’s missing arm.

  Alan Ritchson as Gloss and Stephanie Leigh Schlund as Cashmere

These two are perfect, also. Gloss and Cashmere are the brother-sister victor/tribute pair from District 1. They are supposed to be fierce and beautiful. They both models, in addition to actors, and they look like they could be related. So, good casting all around.

There is still no news on Beetee from District 3, Blight from District 7 and the morphlings from District 6. I don’t know if Darius or Gale’s family will make it into the movie, but there is no word on them either.

Leave a Reply

