Under the Dome: My first connection with a non-college townie coworker

Under-the-Dome

I have been working for a newspaper in a small town in Southeast Ohio for about three months now. In that time I have found that I only have things in common with my editor. She is only eight years older than me. That seems like a pretty big age gap, but when other co-workers are 41 years older it doesn’t seem like a lot. I thought she would be the only person I would ever have something in common with. We are close-ish in age and we live in the same college town about 20 miles away from our office. When my 22nd birthday rolled around my office realized that my editor was the only person not old enough to be my parent or grandparent.

But, Under the Dome created a weird connection between me and my co-worker that is a year younger than my dad. He said the show was good. That would have not been enough to make me watch it, but Afterellen.com had been posting that the show had a lesbian couple, Carolyn and Alice, with a teenage daughter, Norrie. A few days ago, I decided to start watching the show. Now, I’m not big on horror but Stephen King is always good. Aisha Hinds and Samatha Mathis play a great lesbian couple. However, I am fully aware that that is not why my 52-year-old Sports Editor co-worker is watching this show. It is probably because of the idea the producers have promoted. The town trapped in the show is supposed to be Anytown, USA. The town in the show and King’s book is called Chester’s Mill. In the show is has not been placed in any state yet and in the book — like most of King’s work — it is in Maine.

I think I know why my co-worker and I both like this show. The town is basically the town we work in, where the major players are the Sheriff and his second in the command, the newspaper editor, the only radio station’s DJ, in diner owner and the head of the town council. A random looking white dude, a.k.a. Barbie, is asked a fair amount of questions simply because nobody has seen him before and the biracial, lesbian couple is just passing through and wishes they weren’t stuck with these idiots.

The Fire

It’s supposed to be Anytown, USA and it works as small town Ohio. That seems to be why my co-worker and I both like it but for completely different reasons. He would be just a regular citizen of Chester’s Mill and I would be one of the members of that just-here-for-a-little-while lesbian couple. I can’t decide which one is hotter so I don’t know which partner I want to be yet.

Under the Dome will be on the air for the next seven weeks and I have decided to add it to the schedule, because summer is just slow for television and I really like this show.

Leave a Reply

