Fall Preview

After spending most of the summer re-watching and getting into Canadian shows (Lost Girl, Orphan Black and Bomb Girls are all really good in case you need something to watch until the end of the month), I am ready for fall season of American television to start. Here are my brief thoughts on the four shows I will be reviewing this fall: Bones, Once Upon A Time, Once Upon A Time in Wonderland and American Horror Story:Coven. I decided to put Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. on the waiting list. I found The Avengers very average, but this is Joss Whedon television. I will probably watch the pilot and then decide. But for now, these are my thoughts on the scheduled shows.  I am glad they are coming back and stopping Under the Dome from being the only new show I have been watching. Did anyone else make the mistake of watching that?

Bones

bones-season-9-spoilers-hart-hanson-interview-fox

Season eight ended with Booth (David Boreanaz) breaking off his engagement to Bones (Emily Deschanel) because serial killer Christopher Palent would kill five people if he didn’t.

Let me use this quote from producer Stephan Nathan to jump into my thoughts for the season:

“We want to continue exploring how Booth and Brennan adjust after their ill-fated proposal and the secret Booth is forced to keep. Secrets will be a theme we keep alive — and dead (we are a murder show after all) — in the episode.”

I hope that secrets kept alive bit is in contrast to how big season ending secrets are usually handled on Bones, which is being resolved in the first episode. End of season two, the government will not let Angela and Hodgins get married. First episode of season three, we find out why. End of season seven, Bones is on the run with Christine. First episode of season eight, they are back home safe with Booth.

Please, Bones for once drag out the big shocker moment for a couple of episodes. I understand that you’re  a serialized crime show, but give the long-time fans something.

And that wedding better happen. But make us wait for it. We have waited eight years, half a season isn’t going to kill us.

Once Upon A Time

JOSH DALLAS, JENNIFER MORRISON, GINNIFER GOODWIN

I am almost a little apprehensive to be too excited about season three of Once Upon A Time. After most of season two had a weak plot, too many characters, too many story lines and lacked a real villain, it actually ended well. The majority of the cast is now headed to Neverland to rescue Henry from the Evil Peter Pan and the anti-magic Nazis. The show finally made up its mind and it’s OK  for us to cheer for Regina (Lana Parrilla).

I’m still worried the show is going to have too many characters and locations. Most are in Neverland, which could bring in an unlimited number of new characters. Belle was left in charge of Storybrooke, which already has an infinite number of characters. And Neil popped up in the Fairy Tale World with Mulan and Aurora — about time you guys came back. Oh, and Phillip is there too.

I’m going to let that lead me into my greatest hope for this show: a gay character. There are numerous femslash ships for this show (sleepingwarrior is back!), it has tons of gay fans and most of the actors have acknowledged that. So give us something, Disney.

Once Upon A Time in Wonderland

To be honest, I haven’t really been paying much attention to Once Upon A Time in Wonderland. But, I did watch the above trailer recently and now I am pretty excited for it. In contrast to the huge world of OUAT, OUATIW is has one central story (Alice in Wonderland) so hopefully it doesn’t get too sidetracked like its original did.

American Horror Story: Coven

Now, to the real reason I decided to write this post. I saw this trailer on Facebook the other day.

About a week ago, I decided I was going to stop trying to learn stuff about AHS: Coven because going into Asylum all I knew is that it was taking place in an insane asylum and Jessica Lange was a nun. All the surprises and confusion was awesome, so I’m hoping to replicate that. That trailer was creepy. Jessica Lange, Kathy Bates and Angela Bassett look badass. And the show is that awesome, i think has already given us an unconfirmed return surprise. Beside Taissa Farmiga and Gabourey Sidibe, is Jamie Brewer, who played Adelaide  in season one. I’m excited about everything. And is that song the new “Dominique?”

Leave a Reply

