Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: “Pilot”

Agents-of-Shield

As I said before, I was not sure if I was going to post about Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. I found The Avengers alright. My sister told me I HAD to watch it with her shortly after, I HAD to watch Thor with her. So this being a spin-off of a movie I am indifferent about, but made by my favorite television director, writer, creator of all time I had to give it a chance. I always find pilot episodes interesting because of everything that must be done. Of course, I never doubted Joss Whedon’s pilot creating abilities and I will probably include this show in the schedule.

The show starts with two textbook superhero movie action scenes, that almost turned me off to the show. One is single-dad Mike (J. August Richards), who seems like a normal guy until he Spiderman crawls up a burning building and then Ironman jumps numerous stories to safety saving a possible love interest chick. But, Joss Whedon is awesome, so that chick ends up being the evil scientist, who ran an experiment on Mike to make him an unstable superhero. That was happening in LA, but somewhere in Paris a classic hunk looking man fights some people and retrieves something. All we need to know is that his name is Agent Ward (Brett Dalton) and he is a good agent.

Agent Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg), my favorite part of The Avengers, wants him to be on his secret Shield team. He has a conversation about this with Agent Hill (Cobie Smulders) and a doctor (Ron Glass). I think it was when Coulson was being super dorky and Robin was talking to Shepherd Book that I decided I might like this show.

Back in LA, a hacker named Skye (Chloe Bennet), who is tracking Shield, lives in a van and saw Mike’s superpowers, catches up to him. They have a quick talk about the Battle of New York, or when the Avengers blow up the whole town in the movie. Robin also told us that Shield is working to protect the world from all the unknown that was brought to the light after four superhero dudes I don’t really care about and Scarlett  Johansson’s butt in leather pants defeated aliens or something.

Coulson takes us through the episode to meet the rest of the team. The next member is Agent Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen), who has some dark past thing that has turned her off to field work. She is chosen to pilot the teams flying home base, which might be Serenity dressed up to look like Air Force One. The scientist of the team are the duo called FitzSimmons, made up of fast-talking Scotsman Agent Fitz (Iain De Caestecker) and fast-talking Brit Agent Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge).

The episode had all the predictability of a pilot, but with good twists. Mike is found by maybe good-guys Shield, as he gives a nice monologue about the failure of the American dream. Agent May shows us that she is still totally badass, but doesn’t seem to be too cool about getting beat up in an alley. Skye joins the team and has a possible love interesting budding with Ward. OK, there was no twist in that last part.

Also, Coulson seems to think he spent the time between the movie and show in Tahiti. But, Robin and Book told us that didn’t happen. Robin says he can’t know the real story and there seemed to be a little love connection going on there. She is listed as a special guest appearance for this episode. Hopefully after How I Met Your Mother finally dies, she will be made a cast member.

Overall, I liked it more than I thought I would. It was very Whedon-ish. And enough so that I could make numerous references to his other stuff. Skye also made a Terminator and a Spiderman reference, so this show is probably going to be a haven for nerds and I will probably keep watching.

Leave a Reply

