Once Upon A Time: Season 3b speculation

Once Upon A Time 3b has me confused and since it is starting in less than three weeks, I decided it was finally time for me to do this speculation post. I held off on doing this post for a while because I really liked “Going Home,” the OUAT 3a finale. The show finally admitted — about a season after it should have — that Regina (Lana Parrilla) is not a villain anymore. A real conflict was created for the second part of the season. Yes, I know that is it just a reset of the plot from season one but still I’ll take plots and conflicts where I can get them on this show. Sometimes they just disappear for a while. Looking at you, second half of season two.

It is a well-known fact that OUAT is really good at two things, besides femslash subtext: finales and premieres. “Going Home” was great, just like “Queen of Hearts” and “Broken” were great and “Heart of the Truest Believer” and “The Cricket Game” were OK. So, am I worried about the “New York City Serenade”? A little bit. I’m sure the episode will be good but the promo has me a little confused.

At the end of 3a, everyone besides Emma (Jennifer Morrison) and Henry (Jared Gilmore) were physically sent back to the Enchanted Forest. Hook (Colin O’Donoghue), for whatever reason, got back to the real world to try to convince Emma to go back and save the family and friends she doesn’t remember.

Here is why I am confused:

all

Everyone is in the Enchanted Forest. This has to be after the 3a finale, and not a flashback, because Neal (Michael Raymond James) is there and nobody is trying to kill Regina.

So where/when the hell is this?

belle

You’re in the Enchanted Forest, Belle! And that is Storybrooke Town Hall!

Maybe this is some sort of flashback? But, Storybrooke doesn’t exist anymore. Maybe Regina’s spell created a secondary Storybrooke where everyone is trapped? But, if this is in the same time, they are all in the Enchanted Forest. Maybe Hook is able to portal jump with Emma and Henry to an alternate reality and either in the future or past version of Storybrooke? As crazy as it sounds, that seems the most logical to me. Because if not, how is any of this happening?

tumblr_mxev3xCdXy1s9uwvxo1_500

Remember when these blow up Tumblr? But if this isn’t the real Regina or the real Emma to appreciate this SwanQueen moment, I’m going to be pissed.

3a ended really well and though I have no idea what is going to happen at the start of 3b, I hope the show can keep its good storytelling together. It probably will not and I will be complaining on here by late March. I dislike a lot of things about this show, but if every episode was as good as the finales and premieres are I might be able to ignore its flaws a little more.

Miscellaneous thoughts: 

I have never seen Wicked, so I have no opinion on Elphaba’s inclusion. As long as she stays a villain for a while and doesn’t turn Regina evil or something, I am fine with her.

Ruby/Meghan Ory will be back for part of season three, based on a tweet by the producers. She is now on Intelligence on CBS and it seems to be on the same schedule as OUAT. But, since she keeps getting mentioned I figured she would be back at some point.

Mulan/Jamie Chung has also left OUAT because she got a role on NBC’s new show Believe. Based on a Sarah Bolger (Aurora) interview it does not seem like she will be back or at least she will not have any scenes with Aurora. So your LGBT representation OUAT, you need to do something about that.

Leave a Reply

