Once Upon A Time made me watch Frozen

24

I didn’t want to do it. I really didn’t want to, but with Once Upon A Time deciding to include Disney’s latest money maker in season four I finally caved and watched Frozen. 

Though I didn’t want to, I actually liked it. It was fun and cute. Do I think it as fantastic as everyone has been saying? No, not at all. It also had almost the exact same plot as Tangled, which was a great newer Disney movie. But that movie didn’t do as well so Disney seemed to just recycle its plot with flashier graphics and Idina Menzel.

As the characters go, I actually did like most of them. This is Disney, so I’m not excepting anyone to be that revolutionary or different. But, they were all fun and kinda goofy. I feel like Anna and Kristoff would be a good and lively addition to the show now that Charming and Snow are so boring and lame. But, that is not to say that Rapzunel and Flynn, Tiana and Naveen or any number of the minor characters we hardly see could not also do that.

For a Disney movie having a sympathetic sort of villain in Elsa for the first half of the movie was a new thing. But, in terms of Once Upon A Time Regina already went through that and that was Zelena last season. There seem to be conflicting reports on if OUAT is going to start its Frozen characters’ story arch before or after the events of the movie.

Frozen_Banner-880x320

This is ABC’s synopsis of season four:

“Master storytellers Edward Kitsis and Adam Horowitz (“Lost,” “Tron: Legacy”) invite everyone to join Emma Swan, Snow White, Prince Charming, The Evil Queen, Hook and all the other resident fairy tale characters as they prepare to defend themselves against a magical force from the past that’s too dark and unpredictable even for Rumplestiltskin — The Ice Queen.”

I have all kinds of problems with that synopsis. 1) Master storytellers? Come on. 2) The Evil Queen? I seriously might be done with this show if they ignore Regina’s growth over the seasons and make her a villain again. 3) Oh great, Hook’s still around. 4) All the other resident fairy tale characters, but you will only see about 30 percent of them as we try to locate all the missing ones. 5) So where do Elsa, Anna and Kristoff fit into this? Are they just there because they know the Ice Queen? How do they get to Storybrooke? Only Elsa come through the portal at the end.

Apparently, Elsa is usually called the “Snow Queen” — ugh my least favorite femslash ship — so hopefully she isn’t going to be villain in this at all. As I have said before, Once Upon A Time is horrible at humanizing its villains too quickly and Elsa is already a misunderstood hero just as Zelena was since the moment she was introduced and Regina since the end of season two. But the show messed that up and tried to keep her a villain for another half season.

regina

That is why I really hope the story picks up after the movie. Elizabeth Mitchell, the rumored “Ice Queen”, has been added to the cast and will be a part of the Frozen arch taking place after the events of the movie. I hope that means everything is happening after the movie. Because if not, plot reset…again.

3b of OUAT was just a plot reset of season one and if they have the events of the movie take place in the show, you know one sister seeming to be evil but really it is just because she doesn’t feel loved by the rest of her family and her sister has to talk her down and convince her of her love/goodness to save the town, that is a plot reset. Elsa and Anna basically are Zelena and Regina.

Though I liked the movie and I liked the characters, I am still mad that this is being included in OUAT. The original premise of OUAT was that the story book characters we grew up hearing about are real and live in Maine. I had to find and watch Frozen to find out what the story was about. I never really watched Snow White or Sleeping Beauty as a kid, but I knew the stories because those are classic stories.Frozen came out in 2013.

Now I know, Frozen is based on the Danish fairy tale of “The Snow Queen” but that story doesn’t seem to have enough recognition in the U.S. to be included in this show. And that girl coming out of the portal at the end was not some possible combination of the old and new story, that was simply Elsa.

I feel like I should say something about the actors they have chosen but I don’t have much to say. These roles are all so new and the characters are so popular it would have been cool to get some big-ish name guest stars to play them. But I don’t think too many actors who are smart enough to be big name guest stars would let themselves get sucked into this show. If they didn’t also appear on Lost. 

So, Australian actress Georgina Haig will be playing Elsa. Seemingly unknown Elizabeth Lail will be playing Anna and Scott Michael Foster from Greek, which I hardly watched but I never liked, will be playing Krisoff.

MV5BMTMyNzY3NzExOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDc5MzQ5Mw@@._V1_SY317_CR4,0,214,317_AL_                        MV5BMTg0NDEwMTU2MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODgxODE2MTE@._V1_SY317_CR20,0,214,317_AL_                     MV5BMjQ1NTE4NTQzN15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDI2MTEzMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR101,0,214,317_AL_

 

I’m still not excited and now even more worried about Frozen’s inclusion.

Leave a Reply

