Movie Review: Zoolander 2

So here is something I haven’t done in forever: a movie review. My sisters and I recently took our dad to see Zoolander 2 because he is a huge fan of stupid comedies and Kiefer Sutherland, who makes a cameo appearance that we didn’t tell him about beforehand. So we took him to see it and it was OK.

maxresdefault

I enjoyed the ridiculous amount of cameos and the humor was all right. I didn’t laugh nearly as much as I did during Sisters, the last comedy movie I saw in theaters. But then again Ben Stiller can’t compete with the powerhouse team of Amy Poehler and Tina Fey, in my opinion.

I know Sisters got criticized for its lesbian jokes being tired and stereotypical but out comedian Kate McKinnon was playing them so it seemed like a fun self criticism joke. Meanwhile in Zoolander, its gay/trans/genderqueer jokes were made at the express of Benedict Cumberbatch, who has played gay or seemingly gay characters before but also has a reputation for saying homophobic things. Maybe I am over thinking this but it made me uncomfortable. And Sisters just made me laugh.

sis

Unlike how the destruction of Derek’s school happened in October 2001 and seriously used footage of and shot footage to look like 9/11 made me uncomfortable. I know the original movie come out in 2001 but the school couldn’t have collapsed in 2002?

I should switch gears a bit, I don’t want to only shit on this movie because parts of it were fun. Penelope Cruz as the leader of the Interpol Fashion Division was great, along with Kiefer Suthetland as the head of Hansel’s pregnant 11 person orgy. That fact seemingly made Hansel and Kiefer sexually fluid, though I’m not sure the movie put that much thought into it. It was rated PG-13, so we barely saw Hansel kiss anyone though he was a part of two different orgies.

It also had some hilariously labeled locations and brutally murdered Justin Bieber in its James Bond-esque opening. There is a scene between Will Ferrell and Kristen Wiig that was so hilarious I’m not sure how they filmed it without laughing. Also there are seconds long cameos that seem so ridiculous I had to laugh, Susan Sarandon, Ariana Grande and Willie Nelson just being a few examples.

Zoolander-2-Announcement-Owen-Wilson

Was it the wittiest of comedies? No, but then again I remember Zoolander being funny and I was probably 13-years-old the last time I saw it. I wasn’t expecting anything that witty. It had a few witty elements like multiple people calling Derek and Hansel old school and has beens and then they would use seemingly indestructible flip phones.

Was it better than the original, incredibly well done or the best comedy of the year, which are all things my dad said about it. I don’t think so. But then again, I wasn’t expecting it to be. I was expecting a good, funny time with a shit ton of cameos and that is what I got.

Leave a Reply

