Call The Midwife 5.5 American Recap

I got too excited about Call The Midwife after the 2015 Christmas Special and could not wait until the American airings to write about it. So, I have seen all these episodes already. I have also written full length posts about each. This is my American Recap, which I am using as an excuse to write about the lopsided/smoking episode twice.

Five Things I Loved

1. The Turners

IMG_2994

Though the Turner’s story line had a bit of an after school special vibe, I did like how they were used in this episode. It has been a while since we have spent a long time at the Turner home and in this episode more than any other Dr. Turner’s surgery was feeling like a family business. I was a little sad that their incredibly dorky first scene was cut (I’ll get to that) but the banter between the three of them and the frogs and biscuit was rather funny.

2. Nurse Crane’s monologue

IMG_3006

Nurse Crane’s monologue about making choices and not choosing who loves you makes me tear up every time. I feel like this episode is good in pieces but as a whole it is weird, but this one my favorite piece.

3. Rosanne as a concept

IMG_2995

I really like the concept of Rosanne’s character and it was a different angle to prostitution. We have seen life-long prostitution. We have seen formerly well-off women turn to prostitution. But this is the first time we have seen a former prostitute become a well-off woman. I thought the actress who played Rosanne was good but I think the strange dynamic between her and her husband made me dislike this story line a bit.

4. Possible midwife Delia

IMG_3001

I will get to the jarring massive amounts of Delia in a moment, but I really like the possible future story line this episode set up. Delia did really well delivering a baby over the phone and said midwifery is more rewarding than male surgical. Are you building toward something, Call The Midwife? Please be building toward something.

5. Strategic editing for the lesbians

IMG_3003

I wasn’t going to bring up strategic editing until Episode 7, though I am sure I will bring it up again then, but the strategic editing actually started in this episode. I didn’t think I would need to bring it up because, despite all the eye-sex, nothing gay happens this episode. But, I wasn’t expecting PBS to cut so many of Delia’s scenes. So, this week it didn’t cut or even shorten any of Delia’s scenes. They were all important to and intertwined with the plot.

My Complaint

IMG_2993

How do I even start this? I have so many problems with this episode. Complaint number 1: A super dramatic birth starts 8 minutes into this episode, which is why I call this the lopsided episode. Usually if a birth is going to be that dramatic it happens around the end of the episode. I feel like in a normal CtM structure, Roseanne would have had a smooth birth and all the drama would be around her not connecting with her baby. I don’t feel like the dramatic birth and the inability to connect were both needed. But, then again that dramatic birth did give Delia her first solo story line.

Complaint number 2: Roseanne’s husband. The first time through this episode my theory was that Roseanne had been kidnapped by her older, mommy opposed husband. My aunt’s theory was much tamer, so maybe I am just being weird. But, their dynamic seemed like something much stranger was going on under the surface.

Complaint number 3: This is not the best example of an ensemble drama. I’m not really sure how this happened because this episode was written by Harriet Warner, who I praised for her ability to write ensembles perfectly in 5.2. We spent a lot of time outside of Nonnatus this week. I like that the episode gave some scene time to characters who don’t usually get much: Fred, Violet, The Turners and Delia. But, Trixie had one scene, Sister Mary Cynthia and Sister Julienne were only in the group scene. Patsy seemed under used too, but all her scenes were in relation to Delia’s story line, which is a good role reversal for them.

Ah God, Patsy (The gayest moment)

IMG_3002

This proud little gay smirk. But all those fuck me eyes is a close second.

Funniest Moment 

photo 4

I should really just call this the Sister Monica Joan Moment of the Week. She made a dick joke, which scandalized the nuns and amused the lesbians.

Missing Moments from the American Broadcast

photo 1

It was not too bad this week, but a lot of scenes were shortened. In the first 7 minutes of the episode, two scenes were shortened and one was cut. I feel like I should apologize to the Turnedette (Dr. Turner and Shelagh) fans because you guys are losing scenes at about the same rate the Patsy and Delia fans are, but I keep forgetting to mention them.

So for the missing moments. Trixie’s Keep Fit class scene was a bit longer.

In a cut scene, Dr. Turner runs in excited with the medical report. Tim said he thought it was the new James Bond novel. Then Shelagh creates characters of them being a medical spy and a Russian nurse spy. It was really dorky and cute.

The scene with Roseanne arranging the flowers with the housekeeper was a bit longer and the housekeeper said another creepy line about Dennis’ mother. There was a cut scene of Dr. Turner and Tim setting up the surgery for the chest clinic. Mostly it is Tim requesting more pocket money for helping out. The scene with Nurse Crane asking Shelagh to look up Roseanne’s medical records was a bit longer. Shelagh does explain everything well enough in her next scene with Nurse Crane.

It seemed like there were a lot of cuts this week, but now of them seemed that important. So, I guess it was alright. I feel like I should apologize in advance to the Turner fans because I bet their story line is going to get slashed next week. But if PBS cuts one second of Bryony Hannah’s screen time, I going to be pissed.

Leave a Reply

